Walk in Stanley park

It was a nice weather yesterday (meaning: no rain 😛 ) so San and me decided to go for a walk to Stanley park. Few photos:


a view from Lions bridge

Burrard inlet and West Vancouver

Lions bridge from Stanley park

Siwash rock

tug boat

West Vancouver from Stanley park
There were a lot of surf scooters (I think they are surf scooters :left: ) but until I was ready to make a photo, most of them went under water 😛

And something I have never seen before :eyes:

This gull was struggling to swallow a fairly big starfish – and he succeeded :eyes: There was a lot of left-right head moving but at one point entire starfish disappeared. I thought it will choke but obviously this is something gulls do on a regular basis :left: And it seems they are practicing from the early age…

This youngster still has to learn a lot 😛

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Walk in Stanley park

  1. edwardpiercy says:

    Such a beautiful place. :yes: Where were you when you took the overhead tugboat shot? On the bridge? I guess that young gull has yet to learn to gulp its food, not chew it.You know in the early days of the X-files they shot in Vancouver. And I remember this one episode where you looked in the background behind Muldar and Scully and there was this big snow-capped mountain. And yet they were according to the story supposed to be in outside of Washington D.C. :p

  2. claudeb says:

    You made me look up Stanley Park on Wikipedia. What a place. Even Siwash Rock has its own page. :eyes:

  3. gdare says:

    Ed, yes we were on the bridge when I took that photo. I like those old bridges, they were constructed the way that you can cross them by car, bicycle or feet :yes:As for X-files, you know that lot of movies were filmed in BC but in movies they would say it is Washington or Oregon. It is all about money I guess but the fact is that southern parts of BC probably look like Washington. Or Oregon. Or both :PFelix, Stanley park is a nice place but lately a lot of trees were destroyed by storms, it is sad to see how some parts look like. But the place is beautiful, that is true. If you remember, I was writing about Siwash rock in a post after my return from Canada more than a year ago – Indestructible Monument to Clean Fatherhood

  4. Abbacus says:

    Beautiful and interesting area you live in!

  5. claudeb says:

    I had forgotten that story, Darko. Thanks!

  6. SittingFox says:

    Goodness, that gull must have indigestion :eyes: :yuck: What a glutton!

  7. thaodp says:

    Beautiful place :up:

  8. gdare says:

    Abbacus, I like it here, a lot :up:Felix, no problem :DAdele, I was thinking that, after swallowing it, he will be ok for the rest of the day, it was a big starfish. But then I noticed another one, close to his feet :faint:Mit, yes, it is :up:

  9. Words says:

    The views are beautiful, but I love the shots of the gull and starfish! :chef:

  10. gdare says:

    Words, thanks :up: I like a juvenile gull and starfish, looks like he has found a toy to play 😛

  11. Stardancer says:

    The first photo is excellent. Beautiful place.:up:

  12. Zulia says:

    such a beautiful place, make me relaxed. But the seagull hahahaha! Thanks for posting this.

  13. volkuro says:

    Always a nice place to see :up:I knew gulls could eat an entire hamburger when they are pressured by other gulls but I didn't know that they could eat a whole starfish! :p

  14. gdare says:

    Star, thanks. I like Vancouver :up:Zulia, you are welcome :DLouis, I've seen gulls doing weird things to get food but was too much 😆

  15. rose-marie says:

    I remember Siwash rock! :DLove the last photo!

  16. MirabelaTM says:

    Nice pictures 🙂 I especially like the photo of Siwash rock :up:

  17. gdare says:

    Rose, thanks :DMira, you can follow that link I left in one comment and read more about it. Or, go to Wikipedia :DThanks 🙂

  18. Mickeyjoe-Irl says:

    When / If I get back to Vancouver I must spend more time exploring Stanley Park.

  19. Spaggyj says:

    Siwash rock 😀 I love it! Have you not posted a different photo of it here before? I seem to remember it. Love the gull pictures, ahahaha 😆

  20. gdare says:

    Kimmie, I was probably on the other side of rock, more on the left. Also, I think that tide was higher back then 😀

  21. Spaggyj says:

    Ah, so i was right 😀

  22. L2D2 says:

    I love the wild, natural look of B.C. Wilderness, to me, is the most beauitiful of all nature.

  23. Furie says:

    I love it, particularly Siwash Rock. I'd love to climb up there and just chill out under those trees, reading a book. :yes:

  24. gdare says:

    Kimmie ;)Linda, they say B.C. is similar to Washington and Oregon. I don't know but since I can see mountains in Washington from here, I guess they share the same type of rainforests and sea shores :up:Mik, actually that tree is small; if entire rock is less than 20m tall then tree is about 2m; and I think gulls would be :irked: with you there 😆

  25. Furie says:

    I'll bring my chillout shotgun. :yes:

  26. gdare says:

    😆

  27. Suntana says:

    When I first read that last part, I could have sworn it said the Gull was trying to swallow a fairly large Swordfish! :yikes: :insane: I figured maybe a Texas Gull found its way to Canada. Only Texas Gulls can swallow fairly large Swordfish.

  28. Suntana says:

    Originally posted by edwardpiercy:

    You know in the early days of the X-files they shot in Vancouver. And I remember this one episode where you looked in the background behind Muldar and Scully and there was this big snow-capped mountain. And yet they were according to the story supposed to be in outside of Washington D.C.

    I vaguely recall a similar blooper in one of the X-Files movies. Muldar & Scully had just driven right outside of Dallas / Ft. Worth, Texas. And they immediately come across desert-like landscape and mountains in the background. I immediately thought, "WTF? Excuse me! You don't just drive immediately outside Dallas / Ft. Worth and run dead smack into a desert landscape and mountains." Hmmm??? Doesn't Gillian Anderson have nice lips? :sherlock:I think that's the only reason I let them off the hook with that blooper.

  29. gdare says:

    Originally posted by Suntana:

    Only Texas Gulls can swallow fairly large Swordfish.

    :eyes:

  30. L2D2 says:

    Chuck, you are such a bozo. But, I agree, a Texas gull is needed to swallow a large swordfish. So, they took a film of West Texas or Southwest Texas and said it was Dallas/Ft. Worth? Dallas is flat but we got trees, rivers and lakes there.

  31. There2ia says:

    It is a beautiful place! and the photos are very interesting

  32. There2ia says:

    It is a beautiful place! and the photos are very interesting

  33. gdare says:

    Thanks 😀

Leave a comment