For a life time

This week was full of events, both on line and in real life. After two weeks of vacation I am back to work; Mik got his phone (eventually :up: ), Pam became a MOTW :hat: , Carlos celebrates one year in My Opera :cheers: , Dirk went to meet Theresia, two of my friends got married…. These last two events made me think.
I wanted to make this post earlier but somehow I was not ready. No, I am not getting married if this is what you think, I was spending some of my time thinking about marriage and having a life with someone. I grew up in traditional surrounding, where institution of marriage was recognized as one of the main goals in everyone`s life. This and children, too, as a purpose of being in this world. Thirty or forty yers ago it was like this: young people finish their education, spend some time fooling around then chose someone to get married and have kids. Just like that. But then, somehow something goes wrong. I guess "chosing someone" part was done lighthartedly, without getting deeper into subject. It is not for month, nor for year, it is for a life time. Some may call me old fashioned and I know, I am aware that world has changed a lot since I was a kid. And to stress one more thing, I am not judging anyone. Probably 60% of my friends, both on line and in real life are divorced, some of them having 3rd marriage behind them :faint: But I like to think about marriage like this is something both parties goes into with a full awarenes and with both feet on a ground. Otherwise, someone is suffering. I have seen in some movie, one of the actors was talking to his friend explaining him that getting married is like standing on the edge of a cliff; you know you have to jump, you are just waiting for a moment to do that. And everything else is just of matter of luck. But I think we all know this is not how things are going in a real life. And then, we have a different kind of celebration 😛
I guess, we can`t be sure. You spend ten years with someone and then discover he/she was cheating bastard; or life became the same boring circle and one morning you realise you don`t want to wake up anymore with that person on the other side of the bed. Or, you realise that a choice you made was the best thing you have ever done in your life. There is no universal recipe for being happy with someone; it depends of a too many things that I could even imagine.
Coming back to that cliff and jumping from the edge…. maybe it has to do something with luck. I don`t know. I was never married before.


***
Now, I didn`t want everything in this post to be public. If you are not on my friends list you may comment here, if you wish. The rest of you may procede to the next, not anymore friends only post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to For a life time

  1. BabyJay99 says:

    😉

  2. gdare says:

    Leaz 😀

  3. ellinidata says:

    phew! I though you did get married! 🙂 the rings made me read faster! I am glad you made things clear in the top of the post… well good things come in threes and I hope the third guy that gets hooked is you :)". There is no universal recipe for being happy with someone; it depends of a too many things that I could even imagine." marriage is a lotto,I was a forunate one in many ways,some of my firends live with their husbands and have afairs on line or real life… 😦 sad to say the least

  4. gdare says:

    Angeliki, have you seen the rest of the post? 🙂

  5. ellinidata says:

    darn it! I am an idiot! I did see up to the rings… :lol:please tell me you are not married by the time I read the next one!why am I evn asking?I am running …………………………..==========>

  6. Dacotah says:

    🙂 Carlos

  7. BabyJay99 says:

    Have a good weekend Sir Darko 🙂

  8. gdare says:

    Carol :DAngeliki, I am not 😀 but you already know that :lol:Leaz, thank you; have a nice weekend, too :up:

  9. Dacotah says:

    Darko, you forgot the link to Carlos's post so I gave you the link, if you want you can copy and paste it to your post. 😀

  10. Dacotah says:

    You are welcome Darko. :happy:

  11. gdare says:

    :doh:Thanks Carol :happy:

  12. gdare says:

    😛

  13. gdare says:

    🙄

  14. Cois says:

    That one is old already :awww:

  15. Cois says:

    :up: congratulation on your engagement! :hat: who's the lucky guy? :left: :p

  16. Suntana says:

    Yes, Darko, many things have changed over the years. For example, it is said that nowadays, there's no such thing as graduating from High School, graduating from College and working for ONE company all the way until your retirement. Anyone who thinks that's still the norm or even possible, is deluding themselves.Similarly, the concept of marriage and kids being that universal goal for everyone is no longer the case. Not only that, but divorce no longer has the stigma it once had. Sure, the guy, or whoever was the breadwinner (Britney Spears) 😀 can get taken to the Cleaners in a divorce. But, other than that, those who get divorced no longer get slapped on the forehead with that brand as a virtual outcast to be avoided like the plague. :insane:

  17. Suntana says:

    Ohhh, so THAT's what that link was for, Carol. I was confused. I'm on the right page now. :up:

  18. gdare says:

    You are right, of course, life has gotten that frantic pace that wears us off sooner than it was the case before. Running after everything, from proper education to well paid job, made us forget around and pay more attention to things that really matters in life. At one point everything start to break and we realise that the whole structure we built so patiently was nothing but the tower made of playing cards. Somewhere along the way we have lost the sense about who we are and became who we are not – our job, money, social status, nice car or house at the beach…. Then, it is usually too late to fix the damage….

  19. edwardpiercy says:

    I have just one thought on this Darko — the bonding geometry of ethylene. :p(I think you know my sceptical viewpoint on this matter… Sorry that I am unable to give any real advice. But what I can say is "May you find your heart's desire.)

  20. gdare says:

    :lol:Thank you, no matter what 😀

  21. clean says:

    I can't read the friends only post! :(A lot of people fall into the trap of thinking that – once you get married – that's 'it', somehow – everything just kind of falls into place, and you can sort of sit back and not do anything to keep the relationship going. You've 'made your catch', and that's that.When Dee and I first told people we were getting married, they were a) happy for us and b) uniformly told us that we'd 'have to work at it'.At the time, we had a vague notion of what that meant, which is that – married or not – you still need to pay as much (if not more) attention to your partner (and vice versa) as when you were first going out.IMHO (and after nearly 12 years of marriage), that's true. Also … when you put the 'work' in, it works … and it's worth it. 🙂

  22. gdare says:

    Nicely said David. Thanks.

Leave a comment